You are here

Advisory Boards


The Center of Aviation Studies is overseen by a committee of faculty representing multiple departments within the OSU College of Engineering, Knowlton School of Architecture, and the College of Arts & Sciences.  The current CAS Faculty Oversight Committee members are:

Phil Smith (Chair)
Chair & Professor
Integrated Systems Engineering 

Gulsah Akar
Assistant Professor
City and Regional Planning

James Gregory
Assistant Professor
Aeronautical & Mechanical Engineering 

Mark McCord
Civil, Environmental, and Geodetic Engineering

Morton O’Kelly

Stacy Weislogel
Professor Emeritus

Robert Tanner (Industry Liaison)
VP Government and Corporate Affairs
NetJets, Inc. 


The CAS is partnered with organizations in private industry that represent the forefront of aircraft design, commercial and business aviation operations, airport management, and advanced flight technologies. Each aviation industry sector is represented in the growing list of members that comprise the CAS Industry Consortium. Select members include:

Alion Science and Technology
Cirrus Design Corp.
Columbus Regional Airport Authority

Industry partners provide specific guidance towards the strategic positioning of the CAS, including partnering on research and academic programs, and have led the way in creating internships and career opportunities for the CAS’s affiliated graduate and undergraduate students.